Louis

RESOLVED Overcast brings my rig to it's knees

I'm new to this P3D and have just bought V4.5 not long ago . I bought REX Env and Sky Force and my friend came in with Team View and installed it and left it in Auto mode till i get the hang of things. I run Active sky so REX weather mode i have off . I've watched countless set up videos and find that every one had different settings . All is pretty good till i get in Overcast or those nice big puffy clouds and its like this rig is allergic to the color grey and then the ol girl will drop down to 9 or 10 frames when i climb out of those conditions the frames go back up to around 30 . I have Shadow Quality and Shadow  Draw to high and all the videos i watched Active sky they all leave pretty well default and all mention Cloud draw distance Max and Min so i have both of then set at around 70 . Is there any thing in REX sky force i should change is basically what I'm asking ? Thanks Louis 

There are many things that can be the culprit here, but be aware, anytime you have dense cloud weather situations you will see a drop in frames as the GPU has to render that much more in a given scene.

A few things to look at:

1. Sky Force/Cloud Model page: set all overcast sliders (2) to the minimums (slider full-left), then install the cloud models again.

2. Cloud resolution. Go to the Sky Force/Settings/Texture Settings/Resolution area and select 512x512 in the 3 dropdown menu's. You have to make sure you install all texture content to ensure this takes place in the sim. Also make sure that on the Sky Force/Settings/Texture Settings/Install area you have the 2 tick boxes under the Cloud Textures area selected to ON, as well as the Moon Textures area.